Soap suds in his eye

😉 – Never gonna match up with that smile

This spring I’ve been doing a lot of work that I couldn’t really show you or talk about, but bit-by-bit it is all settling into place.

One of my biggest projects actually began last fall.

Karen, the store manager at WEBS showed me a picture of a hexagon blanket that she thought would look beautiful worked up in the new hand-dyed version of Northfield that Gail had put together. I agreed, the idea was passed by Kathy and the Design coordinator Kirsten and I got to work picking colors.

I ended up using 7 solid color, 4 hand-dyed colors and charcoal to tie it all together. The actual hexagon construction went through about 4 incarnations before I found one that I really liked.

By Easter it was all put together but the pattern took quite a bit more time. How things work in my head doesn’t always translate easily into English, let alone Crochet! But with the help of my intrepid test crocheter, Annie, and some fantastic input from Kirsten it made its way onto paper and into a PDF and now you can have one too.

Get your copy of the Amethyst Brook Hexagon Blanket pattern here. And send me pictures, ask me questions, I’d love to see how this works up in everyone else’s hands! And keep your eye out for the Summer Valley Yarns catalogue – I hear this one made the cover😉

Oops – here’s the Ravelry link

Toots

9 thoughts on “Soap suds in his eye

  1. I just purchased your pattern because, although free, the other patterns weren’t as simple to understand and I love the info on joining. I’m mostly a knitter but love crocheting and your projects are beautiful.
    Thanks for making this pattern available. It’s beautiful.
    Marilyn in NM
    knittinmar on Ravelry

  2. I am having trouble understanding the join. Is there a video anywhere that I can see. I have been crocheting for a long time and I think I just need to visualize this joining process. I’m not quite sure how to hold the first hexagon with hexagon 2 in the first row just to get started.

Leave a Reply

