You’re all around but I haven’t found you

😉 -Doesn’t matter what I tell myself

I have never felt less productive than I have in the last 2 weeks. Being down to one car,  having to deal with insurance adjusters and body shops for the other and having to ferry my husband back and forth to work, 45 minutes each way,  everyday, has nearly diminished my “me” time. I am also now doing the grocery shopping, something the hubby has done on his way home from work Monday evenings for almost 2 years. I loathe grocery shopping but when given the choice between doing it myself during daylight hours or waiting until just after dark at dinner time with the hubby and both girls in tow…. I will loathe alone, thank you.

lily-chin-class-work-bust-darts

This weekend was a nothing weekend for us, the first in what feels like months. No plans for anything. ahhhhhh

Yesterday morning my buddy Annie and I headed down to Webs for one of the Lily Chin workshops – Short Row Bust Darts. What an awesome class! Seriously, your sweaters will never be the same. Especially if you wear anything larger than a 34B 🙂 Annie and I then hit Esselon for lunch and I returned home to a pair of children mid Star Wars marathon and a husband heading out to his shack. Heeheehee.

sunday-fabric-bits

So I whipped out the sewing machine, cranked up the iron and got ready for a bout of sewing goodness. Trouble was, the iron wasn’t “cranking”. Irons don’t work so well if there’s no heat emanating from them. Hmmm. Could this have anything to do with the strange little puddle of water I found under my ironing board last weekend? Yup. After a casual, “Girls, did either of you see anything happen to Mamas iron last weekend?”

Saebra replies, “Oh yeah. I knocked it on the floor but put it right back!”

bias-tape-edge-detail

Twenty five minutes later, one trip to the small appliance aisle of the grocery store and I have a new iron cranked and ready to go. I got all my fabric ironed and cut and then I fizzled out. It was dark and almost bedtime for the girls so I packed up for the night.

bias-tape-stack

This morning I got right back into it and I now have 32 yards of homemade 1/2 inch, double fold, bias tape for a pile of projects that I can’t show you yet. I started with a fat quarter of each and ended with just shy of 4 yds of bias tape in each pattern. I’m thinking I might make some more and offer it in my Etsy shop. Idn’t it purty?

I’m off to do some more sewing before dinner and then I’ll be tackling a crochet project that is almost done and needs to be!

bias-tape-roll

Hope you had a great weekend!

Toots

5 thoughts on “You’re all around but I haven’t found you

  1. I need to learn how to do this, I’d like to make an apron and all aprons seem to need it. Do you do tutorials?:)

Leave a Reply

