Hail! Hail! Rock ‘n’ Roll

I thought it was just going to rain today.
It didn’t even just pour, it hailed.

I woke up to, “Sissy! You broke the bathroom!!!”
Not something you roll over in bed and figure you’ll get to later, nope. We have what you might call a slow drain in the old water closet, couple that with the fact that we have a small septic tank and practice the , “if its yellow let it mellow, if its brown flush it down” theory, I had an enormous surge of “You’re going to have overflowing toilet to clean up at 7:30am”, adrenaline. Thankfully it was only a broken paper roller. Granted, it’s a tile that now has to be re-spackled and grouted back onto the wall but it ain’t wet and it didn’t come out of the toilet, *sigh*

Get the kids fed, packed up and off to school and I settled in for some project work. I only have 2 more mermaid dolls to knit for my BIL and I want to get them done!! I also started thinking about this here blog and how much more I’d like it to be. I’m sure you noticed that the last few posts have been huge in comparison to my regular offerings. I used to think that there wasn’t much of interest for me to write about and that no one but family would visit anyway, so I used to try and space things out. Nowadays plenty happens each day to be interesting enough to qualify as, at least, 3 entries per week. Anyway, what I’m trying to say is, you can expect more when you stop by to visit.

Back to my day…

After lunch I decided to head out to the garden and get all my seedlings in the ground while it was relatively cloudy and cool. I knew it would rain later in the day and I figured it would be good for my wee veggies. Spinach, lettuces, green onions, radishes, carrots, and peas were all safely snuggles in black gold and I was just putting in the yellow squash plants when I heard the first rumble of thunder; it was on the other side of the hill and south of me – no worries. I had plenty of time to put in the tomatoes, basil and pumpkins, maybe even time to work over on the flower garden and stake up my emerging daisies. Nope. One gust of wind later and I was ankle deep in soil as 2 lightning bolts struck within sight, I was soaked in 3 seconds and being pelted by hail. I ran for the house and stumbled in covered in mud and dripping all over the kitchen floor when I remembered that I had left the windows open in the car. Why bother with shoes or an umbrella at that point.

After I got back in the house, got cleaned up and dry I realized that we are leaving on our yearly camping trip in 3 days and we haven’t shopped or packed yet. The supplies have been checked, the list has been made and the Hubby is now out shopping to fill the camping needs. The munchikins are in bed, I’m making a packing list and snacking on salami, I likes me some salami.

rowan-plaid.jpg rowan-plaid-upclose.jpg el-silky.jpg el-silky-upclose.jpg  

regia-sock.jpg regia-sock-upclose.jpg 

Ooo, I promised pics of my Tent Sale goodies, what I didn’t get a pic of was my cone of Valley silk that only cost me $15. I’ll show it to you when I reveal the project I’m hooked on right now. Above you see: Rowan plaid, Elsebeth Lavold Silky Tweed, and some Regia sock yarns. Job news tomorrow, maybe.

Toots

4 thoughts on “Hail! Hail! Rock ‘n’ Roll

  1. I’m kinda jealous of your garden! I would’ve liked to have done something gardeny this year, but I’m afraid that will have to wait until next season. Just keeping up with the grass is proving to be a bit of a challenge. What do you do with your pumpkins?

  2. Oh, the joys of septic tanks and malfunctioning toilets. Love your saying! I’ll have to keep that in mind. When we lose our electricity here in the boondocks, no toilet flushing as we have a well. That’s not too bad if it’s only a few hours…but a few days?? Yuk.
    Years ago we lived in Georgia and there was an old septic tank to the side of our yard…the poor little neighbor boy fell in it. Don’t ask how as I am still unclear. But you can imagine having to return him to his mother and explain what happened..I avoided her for the next six months.

  3. So much work to a garden but it’s so satisfying to pick what you grow isn’t it. I would have loved to plant Summer squash, but our plot isn’t big enough. Well not if I want to plant all the other stuff I’ve got crammed in there. This year I’ll get green beans & peas. Beside the tomatoes, cucumbers and green onions. Now I’m hoping to talk my DH into making the plot just a little bigger to get that squash next year. 😉 BTW, have fun on your camping trip!

Leave a Reply

