Bag It Up

OKay! Back on the getting-stuff-from-the-list-done train.
So here is my cheat quilt that I made from a pillowcase. This thing is killer cute and I’m SO proud of myself. This is the first quilt that I’ve made since I was 15(?) and I helped my cousin make a strip quilt for her Mom, my aunt and god-mother. I dug a little bag of cotton batting out of the closet in the garage. The what!?! Yup, the garage. There’s a closet way over in the corner of the third bay where I stash stuff that I’m pissed at or I’d like to forget about. I was pissed at the cotton batting, it was supposed to be polyfil. For some reason when my eyes gazed upon the letters c-o-t-t-o-n-b-a-t-t-i-n-g, my brain translated it to polyfil. That was like 4 years ago. How psyched was I when I realized I actually had all the materials for the quilt on hand. Of course having lived in the garage means the cotton has had some greedy neighbors, mice. I guess a four walls full of insulation wasn’t enough for the little varmints. One corner of the cotton roll was missing, dug out for nesting, but it didn’t do much damage to the roll. Cut out the problem section and away we go.
This is a close up of the little quilt and the backing material. It will be perfect for the new little person it is destined for, whenever she gets here 🙂

Of course, I also fell off the “list” wagon, I made myself a little felt needle book and I embroidered a strawberry on one of the Grumble’s little summer tops. Pic to come tomorrow. I have a watermelon to stitch up for the Bean.

And because I mentioned the garage, I thought I would show you the “workshop” redo. Yes, yes, I work out in the garage. It’s kinda nice sometimes. With the big door thrown up I can work in the “outdoors” and keep an eye on the munchikins while they ride bikes and chalk up the road. Thanks to the Hubby for the built-in worktop he did up last year! I have a 270 degree work area – everything on hand with a twirl of the chair. It is awfully convienient for whatever I happen to be doing out there, cutting, sewing, jewelry, everything but the yarn arts, those are stashed in the mice free zone – the house.

2 thoughts on “Bag It Up

  1. Pingback: a place of my own « Chicken Betty _ life from scratch

Leave a Reply

