I know exactly who you could be

I’ve been on a bit of a weaving jag lately.

Annie, myself, Kirsten and Amy, Team Designing Women!

Annie, myself, Kirsten and Amy, Team Designing Women!

Some friends and I pulled together and competed in the Fleece to Shawl competitions at the Mass Sheep and Woolcraft Fair. We came in 2nd place but had a wonderful time and the shawl is so beautiful!

2014 Fleece to Shawl draft - team Designing Women2014 Fleece to Shawl draft - team Designing Women

 

We warped my little 22″ loom with Harrisville Highland in some bright stripes and spun a lovely Romney fleece from Barberic Farm during the competition – thanks to Peony the sheep for growing it.

But once I was home from the fair I just couldn’t stop weaving. I made the next 2 scarves on my daughter’s 10″ Schacht Cricket loom.

Valley Yarns BFL Fingering on a 10" Schacht Cricket with an 8-dent reedValley Yarns BFL Fingering on a 10" Schacht Cricket with an 8-dent reed

First with Valley Yarns BFL fingering. I used Sherwood Forest for the warp and most of the weft and a bit of Neptune for stripes at one end. This scarf is SO soft! I love it.

Noro Taiyo Lace and 10/2 bamboo on a 10" Schacht Cricket with an 8-dent reed

Noro Taiyo Lace and 10/2 bamboo on a 10" Schacht Cricket with an 8-dent reed

Then I went stash diving and dug out a super old, partial skein of Noro Taiyo Lace and paired it up with some 10/2 bamboo. This freaking thing – I WANT TO MAKE SO MANY MORE! It’s gauzy and soft and beautiful drape and the colors – OH the colors!

AND I might have written a book. :)

How to Crochet by Sara Delaney - available August 2014 from Storey Publishing

For those of you who can’t come take classes with me at WEBS you can have a volume full of ME on your bookshelves! I’ll have more details in the summer but it’s up for pre-order now.

One thought on “I know exactly who you could be

  1. will you be doing a booksigning at webs where i’ll be able to buy the book? i’m happy to pre-order from amazon to save $1 but i figure that it’s better to give that extra $1 to WEBS.

    did you hear that scott and lily saw pat and saebra when you were at the sheep and wool fest? i wanted to get to see you there but i was at paradise city volunteering for the silent auction (to benefit cancer connection) all day saturday. it beats the crap out of me.

    and how are YOU?????? miss seeing you and hearing from you. haven’t been to webs in ages – like since the last time i saw you there.

    am doing major purging and after i saw you with my sister at WEBS, i purged a shitload of yarn and gave it to my friend barbara goldstein. she loved the stash. and then she gave me 2 huge bags of shirts that i’ve been reconstructing into tunic/dresses. you will see soon enuf. i finally got a pic of someone wearing one. barbara has been selling them at shows for me. i’m so psyched. they are really selling too!!!!

    we gotta catch up at some point. are you around home at all? i can bring lily to play with saeb and you and i can catch up!!!! xoxoxoxo a

Leave a Reply

