Don’t worry about this heart of mine

;) –  Don’t turn around

For those of you with weak stomachs, those of you who are not comfortable with the process of putting meat on your table, those of you who don’t want to see the original “shape” of your food, this post is not for you.

Walk away.

Don’t look, you’ll be totally grossed out! Srsly.

If you don’t mind knowing that your food was once an actual animal, then please continue because I did the most amazing thing yesterday, and again this morning. I dispatched my roosters. No, they are not Taxi drivers, they are now dead.

Roosters are good for 3 things:

1- making noise

2- making more chickens

3- eating

Since we didn’t want the boys to be doing either of the first two things, the next step was obvious.

My friend Melissa came down to help me out and I couldn’t have asked for a better friend or teacher. She walked me through the whole process from live bird to ready to cook. She showed me everything,  let me help a bit and then guided as I tried it on my own. We made it through 8 birds yesterday morning and this morning, with my husband’s help, I took care of the last 4 birds on my own.

I can’t tell you how empowering it is to know that I can feed my family. That I know everything there is to know about the food they are putting in their bodies. I did that, and I am amazed by it. Absolutely gobsmacked.

Melissa’s daughter, who helps with the chicken dispatching on their farm, told me that if I did it just right, I could disembowel a chicken in one fell swoop – everything, including both lungs, which isn’t the easiest thing in the world to do.  Somehow, on the last bird yesterday, I did it.

I pulled off a “Double Lunger”!

- this is the part where you should really look away of you don’t want to see the proof.

Yes, those are 2 chicken lungs in my hand.

I now have 12 birds in the freezer along with various and sundry bits for stocks and soups. This farming thing just got way more real and kinda, grossly, cool.

Now we sit back and wait for the 7 lady birds to start laying.

Toots

9 responses

  1. That is amazing! I’m in awe and totally respect the process of raising and then killing your own food. I think it’s exactly as it as meant to be. Others will STRONGLY disagree.

    The most disgusting thing, for me, are people who complain about hunting and killing animals as they sit and eat their factory/industrial farmed and cruelly killed meat!!! I know far too many people in that category. I know not everyone has the stomach to kill their own, but you certainly shouldn’t talk about the morality behind it if you eat meat:~/

    • April, I love you :)

      It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done but it didn’t feel wrong. The whole process was done as humanely as possible and none of the birds suffered, they just went to sleep. If my husband can help in this than anybody can do it – the man won’t squish an ant with out getting the heebie jeebies.

  2. Well done :) I haven’t done any chicken dispatching personally, but I’ve been there when it was done, and I’ve been through an abbatoir from truck to chillroom. I agree – it’s important to be realistic about these things and know where your food comes from.

  3. Good for you, lady! I am utterly impressed, and perhaps a bit jealous. I love the idea of knowing where my food comes from, that the chicken was treated well, and that I helped make it. I don’t suppose my apartment manager would allow a couple of chickens in our yard, though…Boo!

    Cheers!
    Daisy

  4. hi! i just randomly found your blog, and its so fun! i’ve never… gutted a chicken myself, but i’ve gotten quite used to the custom since its so common where i now live in Peru.

    ps i love your crochet/knit projects, it makes me want to crochet more!

    Julie

  5. Hi Sara,

    Those are great pictures! We dispatched one of our roosters the other day; the other two are soon to follow. Do you know of anyone who has a hen or two they would be willing to give up? (I’d be willing to pay…) Of the 11 chicks I hatched from 4H, 8 were roosters and 3 were hens. Through nature and us, we are down to 2 roosters and 1 hen (nature took care of the other two hens) and would like to kill off the other two roosters but don’t want to leave the hen alone for the winter. We are in quite a conundrum here. I emailed you, but it bounced back to me otherwise I wouldn’t put it out here and I knew from drop in and square class that you were deep in the chicken world. Thanks for any help you can give (or even if you can’t).

Leave a Reply

