Well, you may be poor with the wolf at yer door

;) – but money isn’t everything

My girls heard a commercial on the radio the other night for some Big Box toy store. The announcer said something about how you could find everything you needed for the holidays at this particular store and my youngest shot right back with, “Well, thats a lie!”

So, we asked her what she meant by that.  She explained that a toy store could have lots of things we might want but nothing that we really needed. A toy store didn’t have our family, or food, or a home, or love and that meant that saying they had everything we needed was a big fat lie.

If you asked my girls what the best gifts are they will tell you anything handmade is better because it was made with love and it was made just for the person who gets it.  Its not a rote response, they do still truly believe this, as do my husband and I, and we hope that they can continue to hold onto that into their adulthood.

Now, they are kids, and of course they want toys and gadgets and holiday frippery,  hell so do I,  but they continue to ask each year for gifts that we can make for them and we are happy to oblige. Last weekend I was able to get Saeb’s new bathrobe, nightgown and slippers done, Re’s slippers are finished and her bathrobe and nightie are cut out, I should be able to sew them together later this week. Today I started on their new hat and mitten sets. Here is the cuff of Re’s mitten

I breaks my heart sometimes to know that we can’t give the girls everything that they ask for or even everything we’d like for them to have but I know that they do have everything they need to grow into the beautiful, wonderful women they will become.

I’m gonna keep chuggin along on holiday gifts, I still have SO much to do!

I hope you can all find some peace and quiet this hectic season to appreciate getting what you need and truly enjoy getting what you want.

Toots

10 responses

  1. This made me so happy. I wish Ed’s niece and nephew felt like this. Unfortunately, it’s toys galore for them – brand name at that. You have really given your girls a gift that they feel that way. Makes me all warm and fuzzy! :)

  2. You & Pat have raised a pair of good ‘uns, to be sure. But with kickass parents like you, how could they not be?! Hope Pat’s surviving another retail christmas…peace and love to you all!

  3. Gotta love those girls. Even not being a parent, I can appreciate the emotions you must feel in moments like that.
    I love the colors for Re’s mittens!

    xoxo

  4. Lovely to read how down to Earth your girls are. It gives me so much hope that lots of us are trying to raise the next generation with some ‘real’ values about life and family. xxxx L

  5. You have already given them everything they’ll ever need. You’ve helped them build a lasting foundation and I hope it will last a long long time. They’ll keep building on the lesson in life that their learning now and pass it along to their own kids someday. Hugs.

  6. Your girl sounds like one smart cookie. I love the idea of a sort of old-fashioned made-with-love holiday. And also, the idea of teaching children not to put their faith in commercials, etc.

    Your blog is just lovely. I hope you don’t mind if I pop in from time to time.
    Cheers!
    Daisy

Leave a Reply

