When I think it could be nicer being red, or yellow or gold…

;) - When green is all there is to be

 

The Crone hit me up for this, something to do with bees and penguins…

The Guidelines:

2.Link to whoever tagged you
3.Include meme number
4.Include these guidelines in your post
5.Answer questions (erm – that bit’s quite important)
6.Tag 3 other green bloggers.
1. Name two motivations for being green: 
My kids.
Their kids
2. Name 2 eco-unfriendly items you refuse to give up
I have to go with the Crone on this one and say toilet paper. I would also have to add my washing machine. On the plus side for those 2 things, we have a low flow toilet, a mellow yellow philosophy and a well and small septic tank. So, we’re not relying on town water or sewer systems.
3. Are you at peace with, or do you feel guilty about no.2?
I’m sure if I really dredged the heart there would be a shallow pool of guilt but we do so much more around here than the average American household that it doesn’t bother me on a daily basis.
HA! – some how this one got deleted before I posted and I’m just noticing :)
4. What are you willing to change but feel unable to/stuck with/unsure how to go about it?
The vehicles mostly. Pat works about a 35 minute drive from home and I work about 10 minutes away. If the local buses ran early – I leave the house at 6:15am – and more than once an hour I think we might use them, well that and the mile walk to the nearest bus stop.

5. Do you know your carbon footprint for your home? If so, is it larger/smaller than your national average?
110 tons is the U.S. average for a four-person household.
22 tons is the world average.
There’s a calculator here, and our household of 4 comes in at 59.2 tons per year or 14.8 tons per person in our home. Of course I’ve figured into our calculations the fuel we burn in the sugar shack each year and I slightly overestimated our heating fuel, commuting miles and electricity usage – kind of a 5 year average.
In my Plant biology class 3 years ago we figured our footprints and wonder of wonders, little ole’ married with 2 childen me came up with a better footprint than most of the college kids in my class. Score!
 6.What’s eco-frustrating and/or eco-fantastic about where you live?
Eco frustrating: 
Lack of serious public transportation outside of the 5 college area
the BIG car mentality of most americans 
the obsession with manicured green lawns – we mow, maybe, 4 times/year 
towns that don’t recycle
Eco fantastic:
The Local Hero movement in the Valley
I saw 2 Smart cars last week. 2!!
A pile of friends that feel the way we do
Hungry Ghosts’ local wheat program
The ongoing and usually successful, land conservation movement in our area.
7. Do you eat local/organic/vegetarian/forage/grow you own?
We do eat locally though not exclusively. We hit the farmer’s market when in season, we have our garden – it’ll be bigger next year. And hopefully in the spring we’ll have a few chickens and…rabbits. The rabbits are not bunnies, not pets, they will be raised for food. Our land is zoned agricultural but we have less than an acre and therefore, technically we can’t have any “domesticated farm animals”, we’d need an acre for each animal but rabbits are considered pets. I’ve spoken with the town inspector and he says as long as no one complains about us having chickens that we can have as many as we want – the rabbits are backup. Plus I think its healthy for the kids to understand where our food really comes from.
8. What do you personally find the most challenging in being green?
Its a shitload of work. All the recycling, composting, all the work that goes into the garden and raising animals. But mostly its all the work that goes into steering the kids onto the right path, and helping them understand that the life society points us at is NOT healthy or sustainable.
9. Do you have a green confession?
yep, sugar – love the stuff.
10. Do you have the support of family and/or friends?
yeah, petty much. We all work at it a little differently but we’re all getting there.
Bloggers whose answers I’d love to read:
Toots
3 responses

  1. GAH, I’m so bad at this stuff. My blogging is less than sporadic. Don’t be mad if I never get around to this. I’ve been sick all week and just fed my in-laws after two days of cooking and cleaning…WHILE sick!

Leave a Reply

