It depends on where you’re sitting

;) –  it could go either way for you

AH

No more zombie computer. Thank you Left-Click!

Patrick and I both experienced a bit of interwebs withdrawal while the computer was in the shop. He dealt with it by playing with a calculator, I watched all the xtras from the 2nd Season of Doctor Who

Fool that I am I did not realize David Tennant was a Scot! or ladies, I’d have been all over that years ago – Kate, wouldn’t he make the perfect elder Ian Murray!?! just a tad too long and lean

triptych-dt

Patrick just came in the house and caught me watching an interview with DT where he explaind his reasons for leaving the show this year. Patrick chuckled and said, “You know what I’m getting you for christmas this year? I’m going to go find a recording of a Scottish guy reading the Oxford English dictionary.”

I love this man.

We start watching Season 3 on Monday, you know, when the next Netflix envelope arrives. :)

Just before we watched the last episode of that season I got a hankerin for dessert of some kind so I rifled through the recipe box. I came up with two old family recipes, gifts from my aunt Heidi a few years back. One was my Nanny’s Swiss Chews – I haven’t had these bad boys since I was about 10, right before her alzheimer’s kicked in, soooooo good and so simple! The other was Gramma’s Baked Custard – which I jokingly refered to as the Baked Custard of Billie’s Demise – since we were watching the last episode of Doctor Who with Billie Piper – for a few seasons at least – I make me laugh. Anyway, make yourself some dessert this weekend!

Nancy’s Swiss Chews – these are like the best chocolately nutty cookies evar!

1 12oz bag of semi-sweet chocolate morsels(chips!)   1/2 tsp salt

2 eggs                                                                           2 tsp vanilla

1 C packed brown sugar                                                1 C chopped nuts

melt chocolate and cool 5 minutes. Beat eggs until thick- and almost buttery in color. Beat in sugar slowly until very thick – when ribbons form as the batter runs off the back of a spoon into the bowl. Fold in remaining ingredients – 1/2 C of sweetened shredded coconut added at this point is extra yummy too! Drop by tsp onto well greased cookie sheet. Bake at 325 for 10 minutes. Cool for one minute and remove to cooling rack. It is important to remove the cookies from the sheet while they are still warm and pliable! Makes 24 cookies.

swiss-chews-1swiss-chews-2

Gramma’s Baked Custard

2 eggs                       2 cups whole milk

1/4 C sugar               1/8 tsp salt

mix ingredients well, stirring until sugar and salt are dissolved. Pour into a well greased casserole dish, sprinkle with nutmeg and bake in a water bath at 200 for 1 hour. Check consistency and bake an additional 15 minutes if necessary. 
This could easily be flavored with your favorite liquer or chocolate. It is wonderful warm and cold all by itself but would work well with fresh fruit, a nice unfrosted cake – like gingerbread or pumpkin, or shortbread cookies. mmmm

Project wise I have whiled away the time working on 3 projects I still can’t really talk to you about, if you are on ravely you can check them out here. I have also started the holiday gift making. A pair of fraternal mittens for Aurelia are done and I have started a Ganomy hat to match, there will be a similar set for Saebra. I haven’t found the right hat pattern for Patrick yet but I’m working on it. As for the rest of the family – I think this may be the year of the slippers. Seriously, I must have like 25 patterns for slippers that I want to try. Quick, easy, inexpensive and useful – what more could you ask. 

aurelias-mitered-mittens

Hopefully the blog content will return to normal volume in the days to come. I have lots I want to share with you and talk about. Thanks for stickin with me chickadees!

Toots

5 thoughts on “It depends on where you’re sitting

  1. Oh! I just knew you were My Kind of Person! We are big Dr Who fans in this house – we’ve watched all of the new episodes and many many of the old ones. And we have the 2009 specials still to look forward to with DT :)

    Hmmm … do you realise your photo makes the mittens look like high-heeled slippers? lol!

  2. Oh, yes he is a good Ian! Pat is so funny. He totally “gets” you.

    Love the mittens!

    I’m glad your computer is back in action. :)

  3. Those swiss chews are so good! I made them for a baby shower last weekend (where I knew there’d be some people who avoid wheat and dairy) and they were much complimented.

    I also found the mitten photo confusing — definitely thought they were strange slippers at first. Lovely yarn.

Leave a Reply

