I can read you even if my eyes are closed

;) – but I won’t allow you to haunt me the rest of my life

So, here I sit. On this page. Stuck.

I cannot read past this page. I have, but I can’t seem to do it again. Because I know what lies beyond.

If you are reading the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon and have not yet read The Fiery Cross

STOP

 

 

DO NOT READ ANY FURTHER! – seriously, you will hate yourself and probably me too.

 

 

Yes I know every woman who reads these books falls in love with Jamie – who wouldn’t, he’s a myth. But I adore Roger, I prefer him. In my mind he’s a combo of young Graham Nash and Ben Taylor – with Ben’s voice. 

That said. I am on my second read through of the series and I can’t read past this page.

I adore Roger.

As pissed off as I was when the door at Lallybroch opened and Loaghaire was standing there I was livid and heartbroken when Roger was hanged. As much as I feel for these characters and care for them I sobbed and sobbed but it was only the second time in the series that I actually cried – the first being when Jamie falls apart in Claire’s lap after seeing pictures of Bree. I was so hurt. It took a considerable amount of reassuring myself that I could trust the author to get me to go back and continue reading – and glad I am that I did.

I know that whats going to happen isn’t on the next page, I know he still has to go talk to Herman Husband and run into Morag and get caught by William but I can’t get his hanging out of my head and I hate it! I don’t want to go read anything else but I can’t move forward with this story.

So I’ll try to read this page again (the 4th time)  tonight after the girls go to bed and see if I can keep going. I have a very full weekend with birthday parties and soccer games and other social engagements so if I don’t get to read through my blockade till Monday, I won’t be too hard on myself.

At least I know that there is still plenty of Roger beyond that page, I’ll comfort myself with that.

Toots

10 thoughts on “I can read you even if my eyes are closed

  1. I did try years ago to read the first book in this series. There must be something seriously wrong with me, because I just couldn’t get into it. I’ll have to give it another try. Sometimes that happens with my reading and I just have to wait until the planets align or my brain is in a different place to get hooked.
    Happy weekend!

  2. I listened to the first book…didn’t like it…didn’t like jamie. It took me forever to finish listening because i disliked it so much. Maybe I’m just not romantic enough?

  3. I am right there with you. Roger is incredibly lovable. I was very upset at this point as well, but I held out hope that she wouldn’t kill him. I’ve been able to read past it since then, but was definitely upset the first time.

    On another note, I miss you!! I need some Sara time. :(

  4. I know how you feel. I had the hardest time re-reading Drums of Autmn becase I knew what was going to happen to Roger. I want to know why the author likes picking on Roger so much. I mean, what did he ever do to her? I really hope that she leaves him alone in the next one.

  5. I LOOOVE this series. I have reread it many times and try to get everyone I know, who is a reader, to get hooked on the series as well. I can’t wait for the next installment….hmmm, maybe it’s time to start rereading again myself. :) Love your blog too!

  6. I love books that make me cry. Or laugh, either one. I bawled like a baby through one of Jan Karon’s books…she had written this elderly character who was one of the cornerstones of the town of Mitford, and even though you knew she would eventually die, I bawled like a baby. And I howled with laughter all the way through Hitchiker’s Guide. I love writers who can make us feel like the characters are real. Maybe someday I’ll start the Outlander series. I’ve had friends try to convert me, and I can’t say why I’ve never read it.

  7. good lord you all crack me up! thanks for getting me started on this series, my darling daughter. even i can still find guys dreamy.

Leave a Reply

