Seconds pass slowly…

;) and years go flying by

How was your Mother’s day? Mine was uneventful and fantastic.

Aurelia woke me up, Saebra was at a sleep over, to tell me that eggs and toast and coffee were waiting for me in the kitchen AND that I had a nice new pair of slippers waiting for my feet right there, next to the bed.

oh..cozy…squishy..warm slippers…

I got a lovely little strawberry plant with 3 immature fruits, a  card and a book all about me from Aurelia – apparently I work hard as a horse, make the best food and I’m the best Mom she could ever have. From Saeb I got a wonderful big card with a portrait of me on the cover – I look lovely in green lipstick –  her little hand prints were inside with a list of things about me – she likes that I give her treats, and I got a marigold that I hope will survive and bloom. Teachers, please stop sending plants home with kindergarteners in paper bags. You’d think these kids were winos and this was their last bottle of hooch the way they clutch at it. Thank you.

Later in the day I told my Mom about breakfast and she wanted to know why it hadn’t been brought to me in bed. Patrick was cleaning up and messing about in the kitchen when I passed along the question to him (not that I minded, I was humouring Mom) “right. Because that’s what I want in my bed, sand. Hey, honey, were these graham crackers!?!” I really don’t mind – I’ve always found eating on ones own lap to be a bit awkward and messy.

I spent most of the day finishing up my final art project – I’ll post a link when the prof is finished with it – reading the last few chapters of this, picking rhubarb – blech, but Patrick loves when I bake it into stuff – , making bread and a chicken spinach pie, and generally doing whatever moved me at the moment.

The kids were…good enough. Re was great till her sister came home and had a head full of “birthday party” to tell me about. They bickered and Saebra spent the better part of the evening being obstinate and arguing with everyone about everything – the sky isn’t blue unless she says it is kinda stuff.

But the best part. I fell asleep in my husbands arms. Silly right? Not really. In 12 days we will have been married for 12 years and for almost 10 of those years we lived opposite schedules. I worked days and then I worked part-time days when the girls came along and he worked nights for most of that. Throw in me going back to work full time and going to school, him picking up a second job then dumping the first and taking the second one on full time and well, not a lot of time left for the two of us. We got used to having our own space in the bed and being careful not to disturb each other.  Even now we don’t usually go to bed at the same time and if we do I’m still reading or he is and the man falls asleep in the blink of an eye anyway.

But Sunday night we were talking and hugging and found ourselves comfortable and sleepy and just…stayed

I woke up a bit later realizing that we were still holding each other and, not meaning to, I woke him up because I was crying – good tears. I love this man.

Even better. It happened again last night.

I hope your day ended with you feeling as loved as I did.

toots

2 thoughts on “Seconds pass slowly…

  1. Beautiful story, Sara. Thank you.

    I am fortunate enough to still have my mom and talked to her Sunday evening. She lives far away, but I will be visiting her soon. Can’t wait to see her!

Leave a Reply

