Brown Gold

;)

Ye Gads! The weather this weekend has been beautiful in Western Massachusetts! Warm enough to open up the house. Warm enough to be outside barefoot, for a bit. Warm enough for the smell of moist, fertile earth to fill my senses.

So of course my thoughts turn to the garden. My sister and I ordered our seeds months ago from Botanical Interests and with the final threat of frosts wearing down I’ve gotten my seedlings going. Of course near to half of what I’ll plant this year needs to be started in the actual garden soil but we’ll get there n the next 2 weeks. We’ll have corn, squashes, carrots, onions, radishes, beets, tomatoes and herbs of various sorts. Patrick will be building me a bean teepee next weekend and I look forward to planting my salad greens under it.

The first few plants have started popping up out there – though I’m sure my sister won’t see anything for a bit still, it snowed at her house today. The rhubarb is pushing its strangely brain like leaves up ahead of those lovely bloody red stalks and the bleeding heart is beginning to leaf out.

I’ll keep you up to date as the seedlings grow and move out to the greenhouse (now that we’ve finished up with maple sugaring season the sugarshack becomes my greenhouse), and then to the garden. Happy growing my chickadees!

Toots

One response

  1. rhubarb, oh rhubarb, how do I love thee?

    there’s bluebirds in the little house and a pair of nesting Cooper’s Hawks right outside my dining room window. also daffodil heads and only one little bit of snow in the woods, at least as far as I can see.

Leave a Reply

