In my mind’s eye…

white-cake.jpg

We had friends over for dinner tonight – Yay!

Goulash, salad, garlic bread and the simplest dessert – Jell-o poke cake.

red-heart-cake.jpg

I’m not sure I’ve ever had this before on my life but when we decided to invite our friends over I started thinking about what I could make, sweets wise, with what I already had in the house. I had stuff to make cake and I had jell-o. Simple choice, really.

Wanna make one? Bake a cake, poke some holes in the top and pour hot jell-o all over it, chill and cover in whipped cream. I’m totally making this again. It might become my “thing”. Maybe. I’ll have to make one for my sister to try. She’ll let me know if it can be my thing or not. She’s good like that.

Right now Patrick is making popcorn and I’ve paused the movie we’re watching while he does. This way he doesn’t miss too much but really its because I need a break from this one. We’re watching Donnie Darko. I’m Ok with the cast and I love the soundtrack, I’m down with pretty much the whole movie…except for Frank. You all know about my fear of penguins but I also have issues with rabbits. Not bunnies – those are cute – I’m talking about rabbits. Probably goes back to watching the animated version of Watership Down when I was too young. Someday you can ask my Mom about the demonic rabbit figurines that I made her keep in her closet. Gives me the creeps just thinking about them.

* movie done – good view. rabbit issues were semi resolved. the imagery still wicked bothers me though. Its a mad world.

Toots

3 responses

  1. i won’t say what your sister said of the cake before it’s cutting….i think it looks delish. kind of like a red velvet without the chocolate:) enjoy the rest of your day and try not to get stuck in any yoga position. hee! hee!

  2. I LOVE Donnie Darko and I can’t figure out why, cuz I can’t really figure out what the movie is about. It’s one of those visceral reaction type of movies…you just feel that it’s good and that you should like it without really knowing why. And that version of Mad World cuts me to the quick everytime.

Leave a Reply

