Damn Everything But The Circus

Inspiration for the title, take a listen:
This was one of my favorite albums(tapes – ha ha, dating myself here)just after high school and it was all I could think of when starting this post. The song is Damn Everything But The Circus from Grace in Gravity by The Story. Sorry for the early sidenote.

So, Circus. This is the circus sweater, so named by the Grumble when I started making it for her. Must be about the colors or something. Sorry for the pic sans child but she refuses to be photographed in it. Eight balls of Lana Grossa Bingo Print, 100% virgin Merino. I had to give it a quick wash in cold water to loosen up the fiber, the Hubby even commented on how stiff it looked when the Grumble first tried it on. But the wash worked, nothing felted, and it looks adorable on her. Let me say, I totally freaked out when I finished this – MY FIRST ACTUAL SIZED SWEATER!!! (other than infant)Sorry for the shouting, but WHOOO HOOOO!!!!
SO what, you say. I’ve been sewing for years and have made tons of clothes for myself, the hubby and both kids. Yep. But I never made the fabric that the garment was made from before – I’m just totally impressed with myself. Live with it ;P

On another side note, the kids and I were visiting grandparents this weekend and enjoying the wonders of the Massachusetts Sheep and Woolcraft Fair at the Cummington Fairgrounds. Fun with sheep and Llamas. I got some beautiful yarn from Barb Perry at Foxfire Fiber Farm The Bean and I had visited her farm last month on our knitting group’s fiber farm tour. Say that five times fast, dare ya! I also got some luscious goats milk soap that is seriously scented with cinnamon – lovely!

2 responses

  1. Hi Togbean,

    I like love the sweater and I also like your story. but the linguist (and pedent) in me just has to point out a confusing bit:

    “Being first year fledglings, gram and gramp had been too worried to let us fly in that weather.”

    “Being first year fledglings” appears to modify “gram and gramp” which is a bit confusing. You might try something like:

    Since we were only first year fledglings, gram and gramp had been too worried to let us fly in that weather.”

    Or

    We were only first year fledglings, and gram and gramp had been too worried to let us fly in that weather.”

    I am looking forward to the next installment of the story!

    Melissa

Leave a Reply

